I’m a Phoenix. I like the symbolism in the burning of the old. I have a certain propensity towards fire, and I feed that inner fire that fuels my mind, body, and soul with all it needs to survive and flourish.

And it is through the image of burning that I express myself, an inward spark that expands outwards, an explosion that creates its own universe.

So this might be more of a photograph in words than a poem.

Super Nova

I’m burning, burning, burning.

I do it all for me.
Let the flames consume what I have inside,
Turn the trash into treasure.
I am the alchemist hard at work;
Such dangerous fumes eroding my mind,
Dancing on a stage and letting you watch.
Striptease.
The more I take off, turn into masterpieces,
The more I authenticate, actualize.
And as the strings I called a top
Snake down my body, my hips and legs,
Pool on the ground,
I scream at myself
“This is mine, for me only.
No one else can share in this feeling,
Absolute freedom, the lessons you taught.
I might be the student, but I will always be the captain of this ship.”
And who cares if you may find it arousing,
Because this is mine, and no one else’s.

I’m burning, burning, burning…

Or maybe I am doing it all just for you.
“Look at me; you know you want this.
I listened to you speak, on the beach,
Before the bed-sheet ocean.
I took what you said, hammered it down,
And I made it this performance.
I am taking what you gave me and using it against you now.
So watch, and let the magick work.”
Striptease.
Stark naked, in all my glory,
I will bring you to your knees.

I’m burning, burning, burning.

